So today, at about nine thirty, I had totally planned on writing this blog and entitling it "Super Mom" because that's what I felt like. But let's be serious. Today has been ridiculous.
So since Sunday night Bo hasn't been feeling well. He was up literally all night whining and crying which meant that between Bear's feedings I was trying to calm my bigger boy down enough for any of us to get some sleep. Eventually he ended up in our bed and while that gained us a little shut eye, everyone knows sleeping with a toddler is the sweetest and LEAST comfortable thing you can do. I still have a heel indentation in my cheek to prove it.
This morning started off with everyone waking up too early and wanting to be right in Daddy's way while he got ready for work. While I was pouring some milk into Bo's sippy cup, he was busy dumping the cat's water bowl all over himself and the kitchen floor. Once I had him changed into dry clothes I put him in the living room (with gates up) while I cleaned up the mess. In the kitchen two rooms away I could hear his angry tears. He was pissed at me for taking him away from the water bowl, for changing his clothes, for having a stuffy nose, the list goes on. Suddenly the living room became too quiet. When I rushed in to see what was or wasn't happening, I found my little angel with a huge cup of water that had been left out the night before, dumping it all over the hard wood floors and stomping around in it. Really? Needless to say we needed another new outfit which made him even more angry at me and runny-nose-tear-filled-boogers ran wild.
Later, when everyone had settled down, I wanted to try to get some things done. My goals for each day are basic. 1. try to get the boys some fresh air for at least fifteen minutes. 2. Try to do at least one household chore 3. try to do at least one thing for myself 4. try to get everyone a well balanced breakfast, lunch and dinner.
For myself, I clipped my toenails. For fresh air, I put Bear in the baby bjorn and Bo on his leash (errm I mean backpack) and we walked around near the pond and pointed at cars and said "car?" several hundred times. When we got back, Bo went in for a bap and with Bear snoozing in my kangaroo pouch, I decided to sanitize all the plastic things that go in the boy's mouths since Bo wasn't feeling well. Hard as I try, I can't be certain that Bo doesn't stick Bear's binky in his mouth when I'm not looking. Also, let's be honest, when Bo wakes up screaming at three am and I give him tylenol or gas drops or whatever and I'm all bleary eyes and half asleep---I don't always wash the medicine dropper with soap and hot water. So, I get all the stuff in the sanitizer bag and I'm feeling all super-mom-ish.
Well, half the shit melted in the sanitizer bag, including that awesome bulbous boogy sucker that I got from the hospital when LB was born. WTH?
The rest of the day was more of the same. Bobby was so cranky, his nose was so runny, he kept tripping over his own feet and falling, usually while I was nursing Bear, which made it hard to console him. He was pestering the car until he finally got scratched him the face. When all is said and done, he is sound asleep in his crib by 6:50 and I am definitely getting "The Lucky One" on demand tonight, I don't care if it's $5.99 for HD. However, I think I will save my super mom blog for another day.
Song for the day? Just Another Day in Paradise by Phil Vassar
The kids screaming, phone ringing
Dog barking at the mailman bringing
That
stack of bills - overdue
Good morning baby, how are you?
Got a half hour,
quick shower
Take a drink of milk but the milk's gone sour
My funny face
makes you laugh
Twist the top on and I put it back
There goes the washing
machine
Baby, don't kick it.
I promise I'll fix it
Long about a million
other things
Well, it's ok. It's so nice
It's just another day in
paradise
Well, there's no place that
I'd rather be
Well, it's two
hearts
And one dream
I wouldn't trade it for anything
And I ask the
lord every night
For just another day in paradise
Friday, you're
late
Guess we'll never make our dinner date
At the restaurant you start to
cry
Baby, we'll just improvise
Well, plan B looks like
Dominoes' pizza
in the candle light
Then we'll tippy toe to our room
( From:
http://www.elyrics.net/read/p/phil-vassar-lyrics/just-another-day-in-paradise-lyrics.html
)
Make a little love that's overdue
But somebody had a bad dream
Mama
and daddy
Can meand my teddy
Come in to sleep in between?
Yeah it's
ok. It's so nice.
It's just another day in paradise.
Well, there's no
place that
I'd rather be
Well, it's two hearts
And one dream
I
wouldn't trade it for anything
And I ask the lord every night
For just
another day in paradise
Well, it's ok. It's so nice.
It's just another
day in paradise.
Well, there's no place that
I'd rather be
Two
hearts
And one dream
I wouldn't trade it for anything
And I ask the
lord every night
For just another day in paradise
For just another day
in paradise
Well, it's the kids screaming. The phone ringing
Just another
day
Well, it's Friday. You're late
Oh yeah, it's just another day in
paradise
No comments:
Post a Comment