Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Two sides of the coin

I brought both of my boys to the polls with me today to vote. It was complicated, of course, bundling them up to face the cold, unloading the double stroller, making our way through sign holders and citizens to get our ballot....but at the same time it was cool, I felt proud that no matter what the circumstances, I was going out there to cast my vote.

Next to me at the polls was this really old man who had a magnifying glass to read the ballot and he ended up needing assistance from the poll workers and it struck me, watching him, how important it is to go out there and vote and care and carry on the tradition that our ancestors fought so hard to win for us. Being from mass I hear it all the time that my vote doesn't count but I don't care, I like at least adding to the masses. If my guy wins our state by 101 votes, I want to be that one voice that pushed it from 100 to 101, if my guy loses, well, maybe I could be a part of the group that shows everyone else hey, we might have lost, but look at all of these people who wanted the other guy. 

I've joked that this election has brought out the worst in me. I don't usually get involved in political debates but I've felt fired up lately because I feel like this election has more to do with humanity than anything else and it seems to me that some people overlook that when the issue of money is in their face. The thing is, I don't exactly agree with the whole Obamacare thing and I definitely think that the welfare system needs to be totally revamped, although I'm still in favor of helping people out. In my opinion those rich people who don't want to pay more in taxes do not necessarily Work harder than the blue collar/no collar guy bringing in 35 grand a year and besides that, those rich guys make their money off of the bottom feeders anyway so in my opinion I don't think it's too big of a deal to spread the love a bit. I cant stand when people automatically think that poor people are lazy...i just don't think the two go hand in hand and i'm guessing that those people who say those things have never really known what it feels like to be poor and working your tail off every day just to pay the bills.

But when it comes to human rights I just can't imagine voting for Romney... I understand that he probably won't focus his four years on overturning birth control, abortion, or gay marriage laws, but just having him in office knowing what he would like to do is what scares me. How can a rich white man tell a poor woman from a minority what she should do with her body? He's never had to walk in her shoes, how could he claim to know what's best for her?  Don't even get me going on gay rights... I'm for them. How about I put it like that. 

But after talking with a woman that I have a lot of respect for who has totally opposite views than I do, it occurred to me that Obama might have a lot of things to work on too. I don't want to live in a socialist country and some people view his tactics as socialist.  Taking soda machines and snacks out of schools, for starters, isn't the right way to go about making America healthy. Providing cost efficient healthy choices is the American way, not demanding that kids only bring carrot sticks and yogurts to share with their class for their birthday.

Needless to say I definitely think our country needs a little shave and a haircut, but also, holy crap I'm so glad I live in America, where I even have the opportunity to call my friend sexist for not liking elizabeth warren, because in some countries I'd have my tongue cut out for talking like that.

Anyway, closing thoughts.... People have been so nasty on Facebook the last few weeks as they struggled to support their candidate and I'm looking forward to this being over with.  I had two people  who I don't even know insult me on a thread that I commented on....and I really am a nice person deep down.... Anyway, their harshness was undeserved by me and I feel a little better after saying so on here. ;)

No comments:

Post a Comment